User management

Last updated: 2014 December 05

This page describes basics of managing users in translate5 and associating them with projects.

Previous: Setting up a translate5 project.

Assigning users to projects

To assign an existing user to a project, click on the “Task-specific properties” icon for the desired project:

Clicking on this icon opens a new dialog:

Click on the Add user button. This will make the Add user association panel appear:

From this panel, select a user to assign to the task. For annotation tasks, the Role field should be set to “proofreader” and the Status field to “open”.

Next, click Save. If you make a mistake, selecting the user name will allow you to edit the role and status. Then click the Task-properties tab and click Add entry to reveal the Create entry pane:

Here, select the user you selected in the previous step:

If you are working with a multiple-column file, you can control which columns from the import file are accessible to the user in the Task-properties tab. By default all assigned users have the same privileges, as defined in the Default entry item. Additional user-specific roles can be added by clicking on Add entry and creating a new task for individual users. For example, in the following screen capture a user has been assigned the ability to see only certain columns in a large, multicolumn file. In this instance the option for “Anonymised target columns” has also been selected. This means that the names of the columns in the imported data will be hidden from the annotator, who will see them with generic column names (A, B, C…).

In the Available columns pane you can select which columns will be visible to the annotator.

In the Visibility of the non editable target columns pane there are three options:

  1. Show. Selecting this option means that the columns not selected in the Available columns section will be locked but visible to the annotator. This option is useful if the columns contain references or other information the annotator should see.
  2. Hide. The columns are hidden by default but can be turned on by the user.
  3. Not available. The columns are not shown to the user and are not accessible at all.

Administering users

Users are administered in the User overview panel, accessed by clicking on the User Administration button.

From this panel users can be added or edited.

Adding new users

New users are added by clicking on Add user:

This opens the Create user dialog:

Creating a new user requires a forename and surname and selection of gender (represented as “Mrs.” and “Mr.”). All users must have an assigned email address, although the same email address can be attached to multiple user IDs (e.g., a single email could be assigned to both an admin and a non-admin user). The login name must be supplied as well and a system role selected:

  • The Editor role can annotate and edit projects but cannot add or remove projects or create users.
  • The Pm (“project manager”) role can create and modify projects and add/manage users.

Finally, if the admin wishes to assign a specific password to a user account (useful if the account might be used by multiple individuals), the admin can set a specific password. If the admin does not set a password, the users will receive an email directing them to set a password.

Editing users

Existing users can be edited by clicking on the Edit user icon (shown below). The options are identical to those available when adding a user, but the panel is pre-populated with the user’s data.

Deleting users

Users are deleted by clicking on the Delete user icon (shown below).  After clicking on this icon, you will be asked to confirm the deletion.

Resetting user passwords

User passwords can be reset manually, by editing the user (see Editing users, above), or they can be reset by clicking on the Reset password icon, shown below.

Using this option will send an email to the user with instructions on how to reset the password.

Next: Logging in and annotating