Logging in and annotating

Last updated: 2014 December 05

Previous: User Management

Logging in

Users log into translate5 by clicking on the Starting the demo version button:

After clicking on this button, they will see the following screen:

After entering the user name and password correctly, they will be taken to the Task overview panel with a list of all available tasks.

If the user has forgotten his or her password, clicking on Reset password will open a window where the email address for the account can be entered to obtain a message with instructions on resetting the password.

Annotating data in translate5

After a project has been set up (see Setting up a translate5 project) and a user assigned to the project (see User management), the user can open the project for editing by clicking on the Edit project icon:

Clicking in this icon launches the project-editing window:

To edit an editable column, double click in a segment. Doing so will open the editor:

Adding MQM annotations to spans

To add an MQM annotation to a span, double click on the segment as described above and then select the span to be annotated. Note that translate5 allows overlapping spans, so there is no need to ensure that previous annotations are entirely enclosed in new annotated spans.

Next click on Add QM Subsegment in the Segment meta data panel. Clicking on it will open a fly-out menu with the issue types defined for the project:

Selecting an issue type will add it to the span selected in the editable text. For example, in the following example, the text “it looks futuristic” has been annotated with “Tense/aspect/mood”. All issue types can be identified by a numeric code that corresponds to the numbers seen in the fly-out menu.

A set of controls allow you to reject or approve annotations and navigate within the file. To cancel the annotation, click the red X. To approve the annotation, click the green check mark. The vertical arrow icons approve the segment and move the editing focus up or down to the next segment. The horizontal arrow icons approve an annotation and move to the another column.

Marking severity

If the editing task requires severity to be marked, is can be selected in Severity drop-down menu:

Note that it is currently not possible to edit severity after an annotation has been added, so severity levels must be selected before the issue type. If severity needs to be changed, the start and end tags for that issue need to be deleted in the editable window and the issue reannotated.

Adding comments to annotations

Comments can be added to specific annotations by entering them in the Comment field before selecting the issue type using the add QM Subsegment menu.

Note that it is currently not possible to add comments to specific annotations after they have been added, so comments must be added before the issue type. If a comment must be add-ed after the issue type has been selected, the start and end tags for that issue need to be deleted in the editable window and the issue reannotated.

Adding comments to the segment

In addition to being able to comment on specific annotations, it is possible to add comments to the entire segment. To add a segment-level comment, select a segment and click on the Add comment icon in the Comments column:

Doing so will open the segment for editing and bring up the Comments to the actual segment panel.

 

Comments can be entered in the new comment field, and multiple comments can be appended to a particular segment. All comments are saved with the user name of the commenter and the time when the comment was made, as shown above.

Ending an annotation task

At the end of an editing session, the user should exit the task. Doing so removes a file lock on the task that could, potentially, leave others unable to access the task or even keep the user him/herself from accessing the task on another computer. To exit the task, click on Tasks > Return to task list:

If the task is completed and no further annotation will be carrier out, the user can also click on End task, which will mark the task as complete and send a notification to administrative users. Since choosing this option leaves the user unable to make any further modifications unless the administrator reopens the project, we do not generally make use of this option in QTLaunchPad projects, but instead request the user to notify the project manager that the task is complete.

Next: Exporting